TAT Day 36 – Father’s Day at the Shore

Wolf Creek Park Campground near Glendale, OR – The Coast! Port Orford, OR
Miles Ridden – 140
Total Miles – 4,817

It had finally arrived, the last day of the Trans America Trail. Woooot Woot! It also coincidentally lined up with being Father’s Day! How cool is that 🙂

It was a beautifully sunny day, with a slight chill in the air to start. I did some exploring around the campground and came across this beautiful stream. The morning sun was filtering through, illuminating a tree, providing the conditions for a perfect reflection in the water. As above, so below.

I was also feeling reflective…I was wearing my bunny earrings that I had gotten at the Crater Lake Visitor Center. The Rabbit is one of my power animals. In the Medicine Card Deck, Rabbit represents fear. This journey has definitely transformed my relationship to fear. I was given the opportunity, almost on a daily basis, to feel the fear and do it anyway! This experience has allowed me to sharpen the saw of my courage and determination, cutting through more than I ever would have thought I was capable of.

I said a silent prayer of gratitude, and held in my heart reverence for this journey, and for the beauty of nature – of which I have gotten to witness so much of on this crazy ride.

Honey Badger was cray, as usual, as we started our journey on this final day….

In fact, we were all feelin’ a little Cray!

We swung back by Cow Creek Station to top off our tanks and grab some snacks (of course). We saw a sweet TAT pup, and Molly Street! (Molly is Stefan’s youngest sister, and one of my favorite people 🙂 )

Our first adventure of the day was a crazy climb up a dirt trail through what seemed to be a logging operation. It was a gorgeous view, and felt it like we were on the top of the world, but seeing how many trees had been cut down brought tears to my eyes.

We continued to wind through the Oregon mountains, past some interesting sights, beautiful vistas, and through lush forests.

We found an old sign in the woods, pointing our way to the Oregon Coast! We were getting so close!

In keeping with TAT tradition, we all had to lay on the ground for just a bit longer before it was all over.

Lil Henry thought that we were all starting to lose our minds….

He was probably right.

We were getting closer and closer withe every turn of the tires, but the TAT wasn’t quite finished with us yet. We came around a corner to find a crazy rockslide and huge boulder blocking the trail.

We investigated quite a bit, brainstormed options, and as much as we truly wanted to get around it somehow, we decided it would be our best and safest option to double back and find a detour.

Eagle, flying high in the sky, agreed with us.

It ended up being a beautiful detour thorough a fairy wonderland forest scene.

We suddenly popped out of the woods, and found what would be our last amazing vista before reaching the ocean. It was complete with beautiful wild flowers and a sweeping view of the forest and mountains.

And then before we knew it, we were there. At the Pacific Ocean. I can’t even describe the feeling of completing such a journey. It was surreal – wow we had finally arrived! There really are no words.

Happy Father’s Day!!
There was even one final TAT Pup down at the beach to celebrate with us!

After the celebratory photo fest, we checked into our hotel across the way, showered up, and enjoyed dinner at the fancy cliffside restaurant overlooking the TAT finishing point. We would all be sleeping well tonight!

Leave a comment